State and Regional councils

State Council

The State Council is Business NSW’s principal advisory body. Office bearers are elected from our members and join up to five Board members plus regional and member-elected Councillors.

The State Council has established a number of standing committees (each with their own charter), including:

  • Business Environment and Economics Committee
  • Infrastructure Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Occupational Health and Safety Committee
  • Sydney Business Chamber Regional Council
  • Workforce Skills Committee
  • Workplace Relations Committee


Regional Advisory Councils

Our regional councils help keep our ear to the ground. They advise the State Council on policy issues that affect our regional members. They also provide a direct line of communication from our members to our management team and the Board.


Business NSW councillors and committees

Business NSW Councillors


Mr Lyall Gorman  (President)

 Mr Brett Manwaring (Vice President)

 Ms Nola Watson (Immediate Past President)


Mr Omar Afiouni

Ms Barbara Ketley

Ms Ellie Brown


Prof Trevor Cairney OAM

Ms Janine Cullen OAM

Ms Aileen MacDonald OAM


Mr Rob Drage

Mr Tony Rhodes

Mr Scott Emerson


 Ms Judith Field

Ms Debra Fraser

Mr Steven Moore


Ms Amy Harper

Mr Simon Harrop

Mr Bruce Mackenzie


Mr Cameron  Arnold

Ms Lynn McColl

Mr Andrew Cottrill


Mr Warrick McLean

Mr Greg McNamara

Mr Michael Mekhitarian


Mr Terrence (Terry)
Wetherall AM

Mr Brian Millar

Ms Natalie Mitchell


Mr Graham Morgan

Mr David Mumford

Mr Grahame Nash


Ms Anne Parnham

Mr Kerry Wilson

Mr Gary Scott


Mr Andrew Vlachos

Mr John Wakeling



Business NSW Council Committees

Business Environment &
Economics Committee


Regional Presidents'

Judith Field (Chair)
Anthony Bell
Nabil Chammas
Michael Mekhitarian        
Graham Morgan
David Mumford
Grahame Nash
Daniel Rowan


Ian Pedersen (Chair)
Scott Emerson
Peter Gesling
Warrick McLean
John Wakeling
Terry Wetherall


Cameron Arnold
Rob Drage
Tony Rhodes
Stephen Grabowski
Amy Harper
Bruce Mackenzie
Lynn McColl
Andrew Cottrill
Daniel Meyer
Graham Nash
Frank Sammut


Workforce Skills


Workplace Health
& Safety Committee


Workplace Relations

Warrick McLean (Chair)
Omar Afiouni
Ellie Brown
Prof Trevor Cairney OAM
Don Connochie
Rebecca Embleton
Judith Field
Debra Fraser
Patrick O'Reilly
Natalie Turmine





Kerry Wilson (Chair)
Sarah Ashton
Trevor Ballantyne
Peter Browne
Matt Hudson
Steven Johnson
Sylvia Kidziak AM
Ian Lilley
Lylea McMahon
Stephanie O'Dwyer
James Oxenham
Greg Pattison
Toni Robertson
Anthony Sinikoski
Caitlin Stanistreet
Lisa Thang
Andrew Vlachos

Kerry Wilson  (Chair)
Tom Bowers
Nathan Bright
Gerry Carr
Jane Cleary
Mark Douglas
Robert Kirkham
Ian Lilley
David Long
Bruce Mackenzie
Vince Surra
Andrew Vlachos
Anna-Maria Wade



Business NSW Regional Presidents

President   Capital/Far South Coast     Ms Lynn McColl
President   Central Coast                          Ms Barbara Ketley
President   Eastern Sydney                      Mr Bruce Mackenzie
President   Business Hunter                     Mr Tony Rhodes
President   Business Illawarra                  Ms Amy Harper
President   Mid North Coast                     Ms Grahame Nash
President   Murray-Riverina                      Mr Andrew Cottrill
President   New England North West   Ms Aileen MacDonald OAM    
President   Northern Rivers                       Mr Cameron Arnold
President   Sydney West                            Mr Michael Mekhitarian
President   Western NSW                          Mr Rob Drage

Business NSW Honorary Life Governors


Date elected

Mr John T Cameron

November 1999

Mr Neville Sawyer AM

November 2005

Mr Terry L Hunt November 1999