Top Tourism Town Finalists Announced

Time to vote for your favourite town!

NSW Tourism Industry Council is excited to announce the finalists for the 2022 NSW Top Tourism Town Awards, with 30 towns from across the state vying for the prestigious accolade.

13 April 2022

“The NSW Top Tourism Town Awards provide communities, business chambers, visitor centres and local governments the chance to show how their town encourages tourism development, increases visitation and drives the visitor economy for our state,” said NSW Tourism Industry Council Executive Manager, Greg Binskin.

“It’s a real testament to the resilience of these towns that we have an incredible 31 finalists in three categories: those with populations over 5,000 residents, those under 5,000 residents and tiny towns with a population under 1,500 residents,” Mr Binskin said.

“These awards are all about community and business collaboration coming together to showcase their town as a leading NSW tourism destination, highlighting those special places, experiences, cultural attractions and the all-important locally produced food and beverages driving the visitor economy and delivering the social and economic outcomes for the community.

“The process was highly competitive with inspiring editorial, images and video content accompanied by a compelling itinerary essential to be a Top Tourism Town finalist,” Mr Binskin said.

“Once again, it is great to see such a strong response from NSW towns in engaging with the Top Tourism Town Awards. Regional towns are critical to achieving the State’s ambitions as a visitor destination and the efforts these towns have made in support of their local economies, in the face of significant and ongoing challenges, is inspiring. The quality of entries and the depth of experience these towns offer, is a testament to their local businesses and communities,” said NSW Tourism Industry Council President, Simon Spellicy.

Now it’s time for the public to cast their vote with voting now open until 5pm Wednesday 27 April 2022. The winners will be announced at the Local Government NSW Destination & Visitor Economy Conference, 17-19 May 2022.  Winners in each category will go on to represent NSW at Australia’s Top Tourism Town Awards to be held later in the year. 

“Get voting now and share the love for these communities and give them a much-needed boost after the past couple of challenging years,” Mr Spellicy said. 

Visit the Top Tourism Awards page to cast your vote

Tiny Towns: fewer than 1,500 residents

  • Bowraville,  North Coast  
  • Broke, The Hunter
  • Carcoar, Country NSW
  • Huskisson, South Coast
  • Kangaroo Valley, South Coast
  • Karuah, North Coast
  • Khancoban, The Riverina
  • Milparinka, Outback NSW
  • Moulamein, The Murray

Small Towns: fewer than 5,000 residents

  • Barham, The Murray 
  • Berry, South Coast
  • Cabarita Beach, North Coast 
  • Culburra Beach, South Coast 
  • Molong, Country NSW 
  • Narooma, South Coast 
  • South West Rocks, North Coast 
  • Sussex Inlet, South Coast


Top Towns: more than 5,000 residents 

  • Bathurst,  Country NSW  
  • Coffs Harbour, North Coast
  • Gunnedah, Country NSW   
  • Long Jetty, Central Coast 
  • Moama, The Murray 
  • Mudgee, Country NSW  
  • Newcastle, North Coast 
  • Orange, Country NSW 
  • Tamworth, Country NSW  
  • Tweed Heads, North Coast  
  • Ulladulla, South Coast  
  • Woy Woy, Central Coast 
  • Wyong, Central Coast 

Help us help your business

We’re here for all Australian businesses.
Whether it's fighting for more funding for business, improvements to workplace policies or reforming business taxation we’re always trying to improve conditions for business.

For $20 per month you can help support us.