State and Regional councils

State Council

The State Council is Business NSW’s principal advisory body. Office bearers are elected from our members and join up to five Board members plus regional and member-elected Councillors.

The State Council has established a number of standing committees (each with their own charter), including:

  • Business Environment and Economics Committee
  • Infrastructure Committee
  • Membership Committee
  • Occupational Health and Safety Committee
  • Sydney Business Chamber Regional Council
  • Workforce Skills Committee
  • Workplace Relations Committee


Regional Advisory Councils

Our regional councils help keep our ear to the ground. They advise the State Council on policy issues that affect our regional members. They also provide a direct line of communication from our members to our management team and the Board.

Business NSW councillors and committees

Business NSW Councillors

Mr Lyall Gorman  (President)

 Mr Brett Manwaring (Vice President)

 Ms Nola Watson (Immediate Past President)

Mr Omar Afiouni

Mr Sean Ashby

Ms Ellie Brown

Prof Trevor Cairney OAM

Ms Janine Cullen OAM

Mr Rod Dever

Mr Rob Drage

Mr Hennie du Plooy

Mr Scott Emerson

 Ms Judith Field

Ms Debra Fraser

Mr Stephen Grabowski

Ms Amy Harper

Mr Simon Harrop

Mr Bruce Mackenzie

Mr Cameron  Arnold

Ms Lynn McColl

Mr Anthony McFarlane

Mr Warrick McLean

Mr Greg McNamara

Mr Michael Mekhitarian

Mr Daniel Meyer

Mr Brian Millar

Ms Natalie Mitchell

Mr Graham Morgan

Mr David Mumford

Mr Grahame Nash

Ms Anne Parnham

Mr Ian Pedersen

Mr Ian Penfold

Mr Daniel Rowan

Mr Frank Sammut

Mr Gary Scott

Mr Andrew Vlachos

Mr John Wakeling

Mr Terrence (Terry)

Mr Kerry Wilson



Business NSW Council Committees

Business Environment and  

Infrastructure Committee

Regional Presidents' Forum                           

Judith Field   (Chair)
Anthony Bell
Nabil Chammas
Michael Mekhitarian        
Graham Morgan
David Mumford
Grahame Nash
Daniel Rowan


Ian Pedersen (Chair)
Scott Emerson
Peter Gesling
Warrick McLean
John Wakeling
Terry Wetherall


Cameron Arnold
Rob Drage
Hennie du Plooy
Stephen Grabowski
Amy Harper
Bruce Mackenzie
Lynn McColl
Anthony McFarlane
Daniel Meyer
Natalie Mitchell
Frank Sammut




Workforce Skills Committee

Workplace Health
& Safety Committee

Workplace Relations Committee

Warrick McLean 
Omar Afiouni
Ellie Brown
Prof Trevor Cairney OAM
Don Connochie
Rebecca Embleton
Judith Field
Debra Fraser
Patrick O'Reilly
Natalie Turmine


Kerry Wilson (Chair)
Sarah Ashton
Trevor Ballantyne
Peter Browne
Matt Hudson
Steven Johnson
Sylvia Kidziak AM
Ian Lilley
Lylea McMahon
Stephanie O'Dwyer
James Oxenham
Greg Pattison
Toni Robertson
Anthony Sinikoski
Caitlin Stanistreet
Lisa Thang
Andrew Vlachos


Kerry Wilson  (Chair)
Tom Bowers
Nathan Bright
Gerry Carr
Jane Cleary
Mark Douglas
Robert Kirkham
Ian Lilley
David Long
Bruce Mackenzie
Vince Surra
Andrew Vlachos
Anna-Maria Wade


Business NSW Regional Presidents
President   Far South Coast                      Ms Lynn McColl
President   Central Coast                          Mr Frank Sammut
President   Eastern Sydney                       Mr Bruce Mackenzie
President   Hunter Business Chamber      Mr Hennie du Plooy
President   Illawarra Business Chamber   Ms Amy Harper
President   Mid North Coast                      Ms Natalie Mitchell
President   Murray-Riverina                      Mr Anthony McFarlane
President   New England North West        Mr Daniel Meyer
President   Northern Rivers                       Mr Cameron Arnold
President   Sydney West/General             Mr Stephen Grabowski
President   Western NSW                          Mr Rob Drage

Business NSW Honorary Life Governors


Date elected

Mr John T Cameron

November 1999

Mr Neville Sawyer AM

November 2005